2003

1-1-03-Wednesday
Mistress of the Catacombs
-D. Drake-fantasy
-83-once again, magic envelopes me, filling every pore. morality is slipping tho.

1-3-03-Friday
Dune:Butlerian Jihad
-B. Herbert, K. J. Anderson-scifi
-85-10,000 years before Dune, really cool

1-17-03-Friday
Elvenborn
-A. Norton, M. Lackey-fantasy
-85-book 3 in the halfblood chronicles. opens up whole new vista’s and possibilities

1-20-03-Monday
Fortress Draconis
-M. A. Stackpole-fantasy
-86-very good, but not as gripping as the prequel Dark Glory War.

2-1-03-Saturday
Radigan
-L. Lamour-western
-81-typical good guy wins, gets land and girl

2-15-03-Saturday
Manta’s Gift
-T. Zahn-scifi
-83-interesting. Zahn once again delves into alien\human interaction

2-22-03-Saturday
When Dragons Rage
-M. A. Stackpole-fantasy
-87-some cool happenings right @ the end. excellent

2-26-03-Wednesday
Persuasion
-J. Austen-romance
-89-Excellent! dragged my emotions up & down & ended happy

2-28-02-Friday
Northanger Abbey
-J. Austen-romance
-87-no emotional antagonists

3-1-03-Saturday
Immortals of History:Lord Nelson
-H. J. Gimpel-biography
-80-not bad, author simply hit all highlights & glossed over any bad or unpleasantness in Nelson’s life. author hero worshipped Nelson

3-15-03-Saturday
An Enemy Reborn
-M. A. Stackpole-fantasy
-79-not originally by stackpole. he simply expanded and polished. it shows. not his style in plot, characters, etc

3-29-03-Saturday
The Three Musketeers
-A. Dumas-fiction-classic
-84-swashbucklers, but immoral & irresponsible. a story of the times

https://bookstooge.wordpress.com/2003/04/12/the-kinta-years/

4-15-03-Tuesday
A College of Magics
-C. Stevermer-fantasy
-85-very enjoyable. strong female protaganist, reminded me of Patricia C. Wrede’s stuff.

4-24-03-Thursday
Empire of the Eagle
-A. Norton & some other-fantasy
-79-dry & boring as the desert the story took place in

4-26-03-Saturday
20,000 Leagues Under the Sea
-J. Verne-scifi
-81-more of a scientific look @ underwater lifeforms than an adventure story

5-14-03-Wednesday
Starman
-A. D. Foster-scifi
-80-a real “poor stupid himans are visited by a superintelligent benevolent alien & the military does its best to screw it all up” sigh. stupid

5-17-03-Saturday
Camber the Heretic
-K. Kurtz-fantasy
-85-I now want to read more Deryni stuff

6-7-03-Saturday
Stone of Farewell
-T. Williams-fantasy
-85-better than its predecessor, Dragonbone Chair -Simon is growing up, fast

6-21-03-Saturday
To Green Angel Tower
-T. Williams-fantasy
-86-finishes “Sorrow, Thorn & Memory” trilogy. Ties things up nicely, Well done. Massive[over 1000 pages]

6-28-03-Saturday
No Thoroughfare
-C. Dickens-fiction
-84-a shorter book about love, murder, orphans, and lost & restored legacies.

7-10-03-Thursday
Harry Potter & the Order of the Phoenix
-J. K. Rowling-fantasy
-84-where as the first 4 books have been light and fun to read, this was not. Harry is now a truly moody teen & his life is being seriously threatened. This book did not affect me well @ all.

7-12-03-Saturday
Book of the Gods: Face of Apollo
-F. Saberhagen-fantasy
-82-take the sword books & change names and circumstances & you have roughly the same thing.

7-27-03-Sunday
A Canticle for Leibowitz
-W. M. Miller Jr.-scifi
-83-about the future w\ a second darkage-about the perpetuation of knowledge & the catholic church. subtley disturbing, very.

7-31-03-Thursday
Killer Station
-M. Caidin-scifi
-80-surprisingly clean for Caidin. technical to the hilt. describes modern terrorism. Basis for SolarFlare by L. Burkett in my opinion

9-1-03-Monday
War and Peace
– https://bookstooge.wordpress.com/2003/09/03/war-and-peace/

The Space Merchants
-F. Pohl, C. M. Kornbluth-scifi
-82-light, a ‘filler’ book.

9-26-03-Friday
SW:NJO:Force Heretic:Remnant
SW:NJO:Force Heretic:Refugee
SW:NJO:Force Heretic:Reunion

-S. Williams, S. Dix-scifi
-84-The search for Zonama Sekot starts and finishes, alliances are forged [tween empire, galactic alliance and chiss], ‘Jeedai’ heresy continues to spread thru the Yuuzhan Vong and Tahiri becomes something more. Rogue Planet by G. Bear is a must read to understand this trilogy, unfortunately.

10-5-03-Sunday
The Wayfarer Redemption
-S. Douglass-fantasy
-84-interesting but takes immorality for granted and as normal.

10-11-03-Thursday
Enchanter
-S. Douglass-fantasy
-84-heartache and betrayal. those with responsibility abused those who belong to Prophecy. Prophecy is heartless, cold and cruel. Good story tho.

10-15-03-Wednesday
Starman
-S. Douglass-fantasy
-84-Good conclusion. But Destiny prevails over free will. that is what bothered me so much.

10-20-03-Monday
Doomsday Book
-C. Willis-scifi
-86-Time travel, time of the Black Plague, and faith. God never truly abandons us, always sends an angel of hope. Hard, but a good book.

10-23-03-Thursday
Way-Farer
-D. Schmidt-scifi
-80-an interesting story but too much mystical, eastern thot. liked the fighting tho. Good start to the Kensho series

10-26-03-Sunday
Citizen of the Galaxy
-R. A. Heinlein-scifi
-82-I like Heinlein’s juvie fiction. Very interesting, likeable characters; engaging.

10-30-03-Friday
Time for the Stars
-R. A. Heinlein-scifi
-82-more good juvie fiction. I wish Heinlein had stuck to just juvie

to say Nothing of the Dog
-C. Willis-scifi
-86-this was a really nice funny, romantic book. same universe as DoomsdayBook, but different people, etc. Much lighter.

11-7-03-Friday
The Celtic Crusade: The Iron Lance
-S. R. Lawhead-historical fiction\fantasy
-86-this was excellent!! made me cry for God’s forgiveness for what has been done in the name of Christianity. Gripping.

11-8-03-Saturday
Thankyou, Jeeves
-P. G. Wodehouse-fiction
-82-funny but not as funny as some of the early ones. Not so much happening.

11-10-03-Monday
Kensho
-D. Schmidt-scifi
-79-not as much fighting, more philosphical jabber. these books should be under the proselytizing section. And a good bit of casual swearing.

11-12-03-Wednesday
Satori
-D. Schmidt-scifi
-78- lots and lots of completely unnecessary profanity. he started so good with Wayfarer but it just seems to descend with each book.

11-15-03-Saturday
Wanderer
-D. Schmidt-scifi
-79-glad this series is over.

11-21-03-Sunday
The Bishop’s Heir
-K. Kurtz-fantasy
-85-200 years after Camber series, about a 17 year old king. Much more action oriented. I really enjoyed it.

11-29-03-Saturday
The King’s Justice
-K. Kurtz-fantasy
-85-continues strong. not dry like the Camber chronicles.

12-06-03-Saturday
King’s Dragon
https://bookstooge.wordpress.com/2003/12/06/kings-dragon/

12-25-03-Thursday
The Edge of Danger
-J. Higgins-fiction
-80-I didn’t enjoy this book. I had more sympathy for the supposed bad guys in this book. And since they’re the bad guys, they had to die, and I thot their cause was just and right. Family.

12-29-03-Monday
The Quest for Saint Camber
-K. Kurtz-fantasy
-86-right prevails, but once again, Kelson is thwarted in love. His first bride dies, his second intended marries his cousin cause everyone thinks he’s dead. Kelson just can’t win. Wish the series continued.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s